How to: Minimize Stress at University

Finally. A much deserved reading break is among us. But don’t kid yourself, this is not a break. Whether it be studying for midterms, finishing projects or catching up on notes and readings, reading “break” can be quite hectic. Have you noticed that all your midterms or assignment due dates seem to line up on the same weeks? yah me too. These times can (and will) become stressful.

Here is where I come in. This being my fourth year, I’m pretty much a vet when it comes to  stressin’ at university.

I like most people am not so great with dealing with stress. I’m not going to lie, I haven’t always been good (who am I kidding, semi okay), at dealing with stress but I’ve found some things that help prevent me from becoming stressed out. If your interested, keep on reading.

1. Take time for yourself

Lighting some candles and sitting in a hot bath before bed or binge watching greys on netflix. There are so many ways this can be done but it so important to do so! I’ve found that giving yourself down time for a couple hours every day is essential. These mental breaks prevent the crazies (not that I would know…)

2. Stay ontop of it

If your like me and have a heavy course load, or are working along side uni, you know time is limited. Do yourself a favour and stay on top of your notes and assignments. This will minimize stress in those “crunch time” situations.
3. Exercise

Believe me I know. The last thing you want to do when your stressed out is take time out of your day to work out.  But do it! I swear you’ll thank me later. Working out or even just going for a walk will clear your head and allow you to focus more.
4. Sleep schedule

Having a night routine and good sleeping schedule is essential in university and life in general. Don’t try and pull an all nighter before an exam because believe me it does not work. Get those 8 hours!
5. Ask for help

Everyone thinks that as soon as you hit university your on your own, but your not. More times then not, your profs will be more then happy to help you if your struggling. It may seem intimidating at first but they want you to succeed (most of the time)

I just want to quickly apologize for slacking on blogging lately! School has been kicking my butt (hens why I’m writing this). I’ll be better I promise!

Also I hit over 200 followers and I just wanted to say thank you to everyone for all the love! My two months on WordPress has  been such a positive experience.

Anyways, I hope you enjoyed the post and it helps you out. If you have any of your own tips for reducing stress let me know!

Follow me on instagram for more

Tessa xx

4 thoughts on “How to: Minimize Stress at University

Leave a Reply

